Welcome, Unregistered.

Welcome to VTC talk Forums.
Remember Me?
Clearone
Future-proof, affordable, cloud-ready. Itís room video conferencing that simply fits. COLLABORATE Room solutions provide best-in-class video conferencing and collaboration with a price-point and feature set vastly superior to that of competing room conferencing solutions. Find out how affordable and compatibly video conferencing can be. Clearone.com
LAN/VPN Video Conferencing Server
TrueConf Server is an SVC-based video conferencing on-premises software designed specially for LAN/VPN networks. Full HD video experience, multi-point video conferences for up to 250 endpoints, client apps for Windows, iOS, Android, OS X, WebRTC & Linux. Ensures interoperability via SIP/H.323 and LDAP protocols.
www.trueconf.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2012   #1
TelePEng
Rookie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
TelePEng - Has only 10 Tech Points
Question Jabber 4.4 & WolfvisionVZ-8plus3

Hello Everyone,

I am trying to integrate WolfvisionVZ-8plus3 with Jabber ver. 4.4 and wanted to know if there is a way I can get Jabber to recognize the Wolfvision as a camera source? If so can it be done on the fly i.e. speak to a participant at the far end & then change the camera source to the document camera

While I can share the entire desktop to show the image, Jabber does not recognize the pop-up display that the Wolfvision software creates when you wish to view the document image.

Thanks in advance.
TelePEng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012   #2
avdesign
VTC Professional
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 187
avdesign - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

I ran into this a couple of years ago when trying to use the VZ-8plus2 with Elluminate. The only thing that worked was application sharing because Wolfvision didn't offer a driver for the camera to be used that way. I complained (nicely), and they were very receptive. They released a Windows driver in April 2010, and you can download it here (no Mac version so far as I know):

http://www.wolfvision.com/visualizer...capture-driver

It would be fun to take credit for it, but I imagine they heard about it from other users as well.

Let us know if this works. By the time they released it we had moved on to other projects and I never got back to that.
avdesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012   #3
TelePEng
Rookie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
TelePEng - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

Thanks for the quick response Avdesign. I tried the driver listed above but for whatever reason I still cannot change the Settings > Video > Camera to the Wolfvision VZ-8plus3.

It may be due to how the Wolfvision camera & software interact to allow annotation or it may be due to the freeware version of Jabber 4.4.

We will be getting the full Jabber (Movi) version shortly and once we do I will try it with that.

Thanks again.
TelePEng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012   #4
avdesign
VTC Professional
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 187
avdesign - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

Interesting. The whole point of that driver was supposed to allow the camera to be accessible to other apps. Have you tried it without loading the Wolfvision software, just plug the USB cable in and see if it shows up like a webcam? That was supposed to be the point. If that doesn't work I'm going to ping them about it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TelePEng View Post
Thanks for the quick response Avdesign. I tried the driver listed above but for whatever reason I still cannot change the Settings > Video > Camera to the Wolfvision VZ-8plus3.

It may be due to how the Wolfvision camera & software interact to allow annotation or it may be due to the freeware version of Jabber 4.4.

We will be getting the full Jabber (Movi) version shortly and once we do I will try it with that.

Thanks again.
avdesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012   #5
TelePEng
Rookie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
TelePEng - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

Although it does show as an "Imaging device" in Device Manager (Windows 7) it does not show up as a webcam regardless of whether the Wolfvision software is running or not.

If you hear anything back please let me know.

Thanks again
TelePEng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012   #6
TelePEng
Rookie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
TelePEng - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

Hey Avdesign,

I spoke to Cisco & confirmed that neither the freeware nor full version of Jabber will allow the selection of the Wolfvision Document camera as a camera source.

Hope this helps.
TelePEng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012   #7
streamnz
VTC Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 484
streamnz - Has over 50 Tech Points
Default

BTW - the software (Movi, Jabber, whatever) does not make any such restriction - it will use any camera available as a general use webcam on the system.
__________________
--
Peter Moodie
Collaboration Technology Group
Cisco Systems

The opinions expressed in this forum are my own views and not those of Cisco.
streamnz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012   #8
avdesign
VTC Professional
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 187
avdesign - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

That's what I understood. Perhaps the Wolfvision driver isn't working right. I'm going to try it with XP, but it will have to wait until next week.

Quote:
Originally Posted by streamnz View Post
BTW - the software (Movi, Jabber, whatever) does not make any such restriction - it will use any camera available as a general use webcam on the system.
avdesign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012   #9
TelePEng
Rookie Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 9
TelePEng - Has only 10 Tech Points
Default

hmmm that's interesting ... let me know what you find AV & thanks for the input Streamnz.
TelePEng is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Free Cisco Jabber call H.323 endpoints using Annex O dialing? crunkvtc Systems and solutions 28 08-23-2012 06:52 PM
Cisco Jabber Telepresence for IPAD darrenm6 CODEC 3 04-18-2012 11:00 AM
Movi (4.3) is now Jabber Video for Telepresence jvillasan Software 28 03-09-2012 06:48 AM
Movi=Jabber, but Jabber=Jabber?? avdesign Software 1 03-08-2012 12:41 PM
Cisco Jabber v4.3: Failed to update presence ciscotandberg Software 6 02-09-2012 10:35 PM

Register

Username
Password
Email
Close
3.8.4
Copyright 2014 VTCtalk.com
Copyright (c) 2004 - 2012, Crependo. All Rights Reserved